ENGLISH 7: UNIT 8: GRAMMAR AND VOCABUALRY

UNIT 8: FILMS

VOCABULARY AND GRAMMAR

I.Complete the sentences with the correct form of the adjective in brackets.

1.It’s a …………………..book and I’m ……………………every time I start reading it.                               (bore)

2.I was very……………………in the lesson because our teacher is very…………………in history.          (interest)

3.We were all very…………………….about the school trip but it wasn’t an …………………….. trip at all. (excite)

4.Studying for exams is very……………………. I get …………………when I open my school books.          (tire)

5.My friend is a very………………….sort of person but he hates doing …………………….. activities.         (relax)

II.Complete the conversations with the correct form of the adjectives in brackets.

  1. A: Was it a good film?

B: No, it wasn’t very (interest)……………………. In fact, it was really (bore)………………………..

  1. A: I’m always very (tire)…………………after a day at work. I can’t do anything in the evening.

B: Why don’t you watch a film?

A: I always fall asleep. Sometimes, I put on the most (excite)………………film that I really want to see but I always fall asleep.

  1. A: I’m an actor. Acting is a very (tire)……………………. It isn’t (relax)…………… at all. Are you (relax)…………………….?

B: No way. I’m a worker.

III.Complete the sentences, using although, despite, in spite of, however, or nevertheless. Sometimes, two answers are possible.

  1. …………………….it was raining heavily, he went out without a raincoat.
  2. My father is very busy. …………………., he is always willing to give a hand with the housework.
  3. Some English words have the same pronunciation…………………….they are spelled differently, for example , dear and deer.
  4. I was cold and wet. ……………………, Bob put on his swimming suit and went to the beach.
  5. I think I did OK in my speech last night……………………I’d had almost no sleep for 24 hours.
  6. Carol arrived at the meeting………………………I asked her not to be there.
  7. The sky was grey and cloudy………………………, we went to the beach.
  8. It looks like they’re going to succeed……………………..their present difficulties.
  9. ………………….there was no electricity, I was able to read because I had a candle.
  10. …………………..I heard the telephone ring, I didn’t answer it.

IV.Complete the sentences, using although, despite, in spite of, however, or nevertheless. Sometimes, two answers are possible.

  1. ………………….difficulties, the firemen managed to save many people who were caught in the fire.
  2. ………………..he got top marks at high school, he never went to university.
  3. She failed the test………………………..she studied hard.
  4. Everyone thought she would accept the offer. …………………, she turned it down.
  5. We enjoyed our holiday……………………..the train.

V.Rewrite the sentences, using the words in the brackets. Change other words in the sentence if necessary.

1.I couldn’t sleep. I was tired.                                                                              (in spite of)

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

2.They have little money. They are happy.                                                           (despite)

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

3. My foot was hurt. I managed to walk to the nearest village.  (although)

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

4.We planned to visit Petronas in the afternoon. We could not afford the fee.    (however)

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

5.I got very wet in the rain. I had an umbrella.                                                        (although)

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

  1. The new restaurant looks good. It seems to have few customers. (however)

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

7.We had planned to walk right round the lake. The heavy rain made this impossible.  (although)

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

  1. I’ve been too busy to answer my email. I’ll do it soon. (nevertheless).

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

  1. Mary was sick. She didn’t leave the meeting until it ended. (despite)

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

10.We live in the same street. We rarely see each other.                                                  (in spite of)

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

VI.Choose the correct answers.

  1. A…………………is a film that shows real life events or stories.
A. action                     B. documentary          C. thriller                     D. comedy
  1. I found the book so………………..that I couldn’t put it down.
A. gripping                  B. boring                     C. tiring                       D. shocking
  1. A ……………….is a film that tries to make audiences laugh.
A. horror                     B. sci-fi                       C. comedy                   D. documentary
  1. The end of the film was so…………………..that many people cried.
A. shocking                 B. moving                   C. exciting                   D. boring
  1. Mr.Bean’s Holiday is a …………………..film – I was laughing from beginning to end.
A. hilarious                  B. violent                    C. scary                       D. moving
  1. ……………..they spent a lot of money on the film, it wasn’t a big success.
A. However                B. Nevertheless           C. When                      D. Although
  1. Last night, I didn’t go to bed early………………….being very tired.
A. Despite of              B. in spite of               C. although                 D. because of
  1. Not many people went to see the film;……………………,it received good reviews from critics.
A. However                B. despite                    C. but                          D. although
  1. We found the plot of the film……………………
A. bored                      B. boring                     C. interested                D. acting
  1. We were…………………….with the latest film of that director.
A. satisfy                     B. satisfying                C. satisfactory             D. satisfied

11.……………………he spent much money on the film, it wasn’t a big success.

A. Even                       B. But                         C. Although                D. Despite
  1. I enjoyed the film on TV yesterday evening……………………nobody in my family liked it.
A. although                 B. yet                          C. in spite of               D. so
  1. We didn’t find it funny………………….it was a comedy.
A. in spite of               B. despite                    C. although                 D. but
  1. I went to the cinema with my friends yesterday ………………………feeling very tired.
A. although                 B. in spite of               C. but                          D. so
  1. ………………….careful preparation, we have a lot of difficult in making a new film.
A. with                        B. however                  C. such                        D. Despite
  1. Let’s go to the Victor Cinema. I’m sure you’ll find the film……………………….
A. excites                    B. excite                      C. excited                    D. exciting
  1. I have never felt as …………………..as I did when I watched that horror film.
A. terrify                     B. terrified                  C. terrifying                D. terrible
  1. We like the film very much. The…………………are unforgettable and the plot is gripping.
A. characters               B. acting                      C. style                        D. action
  1. The film was so……………………….However, my father saw it from beginning to end.
A. interesting              B. exciting                   C. boring                     D. fascinating
  1. I was…………………..to learn that the director of that gripping film has won the first prize.
A. interest                   B. interests                  C. interested                D. interesting

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

